Did you know?
Labuan derives its name from the Malay word ‘Labuhan’, meaning ‘port’ or ‘harbour’, a reflection of the island’s status since ancient times. Labuan comprises the main island of Pulau Labuan and six surrounding islets, namely Pulau Burung, Pulau Daat, Pulau Kuraman, Pulau Papan, Pulau Rusukan Besar and Pulau Rusukan Kecil, covering a total of about 92 square kilometers.

Ramsey Point Pantai Tanjung Purun

About Labuan

Associated with safety and security, Labuan Island in its early days was a port of refuge for ships plying the waters of Borneo, providing shelter from storms and pirate attacks.


Labuan has a colourful past with historical affiliations to the Sultanate of Brunei, British Crown Colony and Empire of Japan.

Duty-free shopping

Visitors will enjoy duty-free shopping in Labuan’s many stores which carry a large selection of local and imported products.

Labuan Financial Park

Offshore financial hub

Labuan is the region’s premier offshore financial hub, hosting thousands of offshore entities including some of the world’s largest financial institutions.

Leave a Reply